, , , , , , , , ,

Yesterday (19th of February 2011), the Grays branch of the MDC held its elections for office holders in line with the party’s rebuilding exercise. The elections, which were held during a meeting at the Elm Park Community Assembly Hall, were conducted by the party’s interim South East District Chairman, Mr. Khama Matambanadzo and his deputy Mr. Washington Ali. The meeting was well attended, with some guests from Basildon and Southend branches.

In a speech before the elections, Mr. Matambanadzo emphasised the need for dedicated leaders as the party prepares itself for the final battle to oust the oppressive Zanu PF regime of Robert Mugabe. He also encouraged members to avoid the kind of divisions which had threatened the well-being of the party in the previous years. Mr. Matambanadzo took time out to explain the rolling out of the new party cards and how they would be paid for and distributed.

Most of the outgoing committee members led by Ben Ncube were re-elected back into office. This is a sign that shows the member’s confidence in their leaders for the good work they have done already. After their election, the executive pledged to work hard to revive the branch to its former greatness, which had catapulted the late Hon. J. Nyamande to his historic victory in the 2008 elections.

The branch chairman urged all those present to promote the image of the branch and to participate in projects such as twinning and community groups.

The interim deputy chairman, who kept the crowd alive with slogans and party songs (together with our own Chinx Chingaira Lovemore Mukeyani), congratulated the newly elected committee and promised to work with them in promoting unity. Soon after the elections the two district officials proceeded to Harlow to complete the branch elections in the South East District.

The New Look Committee Is As Follows:

Mr Ben Ncube (Chairperson)

Grays Branch Members

Ms Maria Semu (Deputy Chairperson)

Mr Lovemore Mukeyani (Organising Secretary)

Mr Richmond Mandichera (Secretary)

Mr Hebert Masamba (Treasurer)

Ms Gladys Meck (Women’s Chairperson)

Ms Ellah Svosve (Youth Chairperson).

and finally Mr Walter Semwayo, Mr Edmund Msipa and Mrs. Sipiwe Attah  were elected as committee members.