Zimbabwe Elections : 2008

These are the results of an election viewed as unfree and unfair by many countries around the world as well as the United Nations.They were released moments before was speedily inaugurated as President of Zimbabwe for another 5 years, after standing against himself in the 27 June 2008 presidential run-off elections. The polls went ahead in a climate of massive intimidation and terror. In some areas voters were force marched to the polls to vote for Robert Mugabe, threatened with violence before the polls and promised reprisal attacks after the polls if they did not vote. In other areas, like Bulawayo, they boycotted in their thousands. These figures must be viewed in the context of our map of political violence.

Sham Election Results Violence: 10 Most Affected
After 10 provinces declared

Mugabe: June 27th votes2150269Mugabe: March 29th votes1079730Tsvangirai: March 29th votes1195562Protest Vote: June 27th364481
Below is a live update from our violence map of the 10 worst provinces affected by violence during the election 2008 campaign.
1. Mashonaland Central
2. Mashonaland East
3. Harare
4. Mashonaland West
5. Manicaland
6. Matabeleland North
7. Midlands
8. Masvingo
9. Bulawayo
10. Matabeleland South
based on 2094 cases

All of the above results are based on figures announced by the Zimbabwe Electoral Commission (ZEC). Many of the ZEC officials who presided over the March 29th elections were replaced for the June polls by individuals deeply loyal to the Zanu PF party. These figures are neither free nor fair; and they do not reflect the will of the people. These figures cannot be regarded as a legitimate and credible result.

The chart above shows the figures polled for Robert Mugabe on the 27th alongside those recorded on the 29th March for both Robert Mugabe and Morgan Tsvangirai. It is believed that Robert Mugabe will set out to achieve a higher result than Morgan Tsvangirai polled on the 29th March, in an attempt to claim legitimacy. The final bar in this chart reflects the ‘protest component’ of this poll: the votes that went to Morgan Tsvangirai even though he did not stand, plus the spoiled ballots.

10 Provinces declared by ZEC

  JUNE 27th MARCH 29th
Province Tsvangarai Mugabe Spoilt Turnout Tsvangarai Mugabe Spoilt Turnout
Bulawayo 13291 21127 9166 14% 49657 11118 551 30%
Harare 48307 156478 36447 31% 227166 61215 1452 40%
Manicaland 29561 323284 17525 48% 212029 141592 6061 48%
Mashonaland Central 4066 276912 3409 54% 75722 157626 4080 47%
Mashonaland East 11171 315119 7675 51% 119661 160965 4578 45%
Mashonaland West 18459 256699 10821 46% 107345 134730 3275 41%
Masvingo 12804 321404 9740 46% 145198 156672 7318 44%
Matabeleland North 40099 84185 9907 37% 70611 42825 3596 42%
Matabeleland South 21687 92654 7353 34% 34885 46156 2541 34%
Midlands 33555 302407 19438 45% 153288 166831 5363 44%

Percentage change in votes from March 29th to June 27th

Election Results March 29th 2008

House of Assembly Results Results by Province Constituency in Depth
Bulawayo Harare Mashonaland Central Mashonaland East Mashonaland West Masvingo Matabeleland North Matabeleland South Manicaland Midlands
Beitbridge East Beitbridge West Bikita East Bikita South Bikita West Bindura North Bindura South Binga North Binga South Bubi Budiriro Buhera Central Buhera North Buhera South Buhera West Bulawayo Central Bulawayo East Bulawayo South Bulilima East Bulilima West Chakari Chegutu East Chegutu West Chikomba Central Chikomba East Chikomba West Chimanimani East Chimanimani West Chinhoyi Chipinge Central Chipinge East Chipinge South Chipinge West Chiredzi East Chiredzi North Chiredzi South Chiredzi West Chirumanzu Chirumanzu-Zibagwe Chitungwiza North Chitungwiza South Chivi Central Chivi North Chivi South Chiwundura Dangamvura Chikanga Dzivarasekwa Emakhandeni – Entumbane Epworth Glen Norah Glen View North Glen View South Gokwe Gokwe Kana Gokwe Mapfungautsi Gokwe Sengwa Gokwe Sesame Gokwe-Chireya Gokwe-Gumunyu Gokwe-Kabuyuni Gokwe-Nembudziya Goromonzi North Goromonzi South Goromonzi West Guruve North Guruve South Gutu Central Gutu East Gutu North Gutu South Gutu West Gwanda Central Gwanda North Gwanda South Gweru Urban Harare Central Harare East Harare North Harare South Harare West Hatfield Headlands Highfield East Highfield West Hurungwe Central Hurungwe East Hurungwe North Hurungwe West Hwange Central Hwange East Hwange West Insiza North Insiza South Kadoma Central Kambuzuma Kariba Kuwadzana Kuwadzana East Kuwadzana West Kwekwe Central Lobengula Lupane East Lupane West Luveve Mabvuku/Tafara Magunje Magwegwe Makokoba Makonde Makoni Central Makoni North Makoni South Makoni West Mangwe Maramba-Pfungwe Marondera Central Marondera East Marondera West Masvingo Central Masvingo North Masvingo South Masvingo Urban Masvingo West Matobo North Matobo South Mazowe Central Mazowe North Mazowe South Mazowe West Mbare Mberengwa East Mberengwa North Mberengwa South Mberengwa West Mbire Mbizo Mhangura Mhondoro – Mubaira Mhondoro – Ngezi Mkoba Mt Darwin East Mt Darwin North Mt Darwin South Mt Darwin West Mt Pleasant Mudzi North Mudzi South Mudzi West Mufakose Murewa North Murewa South Murewa West Musikavanhu Mutare Central Mutare North Mutare South Mutare West Mutasa Central Mutasa North Mutasa South Mutoko East Mutoko North Mutoko South Muzarabani North Muzvezve Mwenezi East Mwenezi West Nkayi North Nkayi South Nketa Nkulumane Norton Nyanga North Nyanga South Pelandaba – Mpopoma Pumula Redcliff Rushinga Sanyati Seke Shamva North Shamva South Shurugwi South Shurugwi North Silobela Southerton St Marys Sunningdale Tsholotsho North Tsholotsho South Umguza Umzingwane Uzumba Vungu Warren Park Wedza North Wedza South Zaka Central Zaka East Zaka North Zaka West Zengeza East Zengeza West Zhombe Zvimba East Zvimba North Zvimba South Zvimba West Zvishavane Ngezi Zvishavane Runde
Senate Results Share of Vote: House of Assembly
PVT share of the voteTotal: 2259871
MDC MT: 1021370 | ZPF: 1057841
MDC AM: 152705 | Others: 27955
ZEC share of the voteTotal: 2424808
MDC MT: 1038617 | ZPF: 1111625
MDC AM: 206868 | Others: 67698
Share of Vote: Senate

Senate share of the vote (ZEC)Total: 2406478
MDC MT: 1035824 | ZPF: 1101931


source: sokwanele